15yr old looking for advice (

Copied from the investing questions thread

How old are you? I am 15 yrs old

Are you employed/making income? How much? No, I do plan on working a job next summer though.

What are your objectives with this money? (buy a house? Retirement savings?) Learn important investing principles and eventually put it all towards my parent's retirement fund.

What is your risk tolerance? (Do you mind risking it at blackjack or do you need to know its 100% safe?) I have around $2300 of my own money and $2700 that my parents have graciously loaned me. I am okay with risking my own money and I won't panic from big dips, but obviously it would be better to have stability. I am willing to put 10-20% towards high risk stocks. But for my parents money, I would prefer safer blue chips stocks or etfs, I could not live with myself if I lost it.

What are you current holdings? (Do you already have exposure to specific funds and sectors?) I have a few shares of IUSG, SHOP, PIXY, AVTI

Looking at VTI, BABA, PYPL, CVNA, BZUN, COST, MGK, WTW, TTWO

I don't really have any significant debts/assets (pretty obvious)

What is your time horizon? Do you need this money next month? Next 20yrs? My timeline would probably be within 5-10 years.

I use Robinhood under my mothers name, so technically all the money is hers, not a big deal to me. We trust each other though, so I make sure not to abuse this privilege. I like Robinhood because with the relatively small amount I am trading right now, the fact that it has no fees is perfect. Might switch to another broker when my capital is higher. I know that I am pretty much a fool right now and know pretty much fuckall, so I tread especially carefully when investing. I would really like to learn more whether through books, podcast, etc.

In the past week trading, I've made a few bucks when shiftpixy shot up 10%, but I know much of it's pure luck. I'd appreciate any advice short term and long term.

Edit: don't understand the downvotes, trying to ask a legitimate question 😕

Submitted July 16, 2017 at 12:22AM by ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhno
via http://ift.tt/2tfCTcs

Leave a Reply

