[reposting a question from I saw here 4 years ago] Is anyone here actually making money?

I've been following this sub off and on for about 3 years or so. During this time I've been trying to follow the directions of the side bar. Learning coding, math, statistics, machine learning.

I'm at the point where I can implement basic machine learning algorithims and have an OK understanding of how they work under the hood. I think I'm ready to start coding basic algorithms that make predictions it feels so unsophisticated that I can't possibly imagine it working.

In my head I imagine even the guys that make peanuts are super fucking smart and spent years developing their algos just to even get there.

I don't have expectations of becoming a millionaire over night but I'm just trying to gauge the barrier to entry here and how far away I still am from being able to put forward a legitimate attempt at this.

Submitted August 12, 2017 at 06:06PM by findandwrite
via http://ift.tt/2fBtHc4

Leave a Reply

